, ,

Did you know that in 1944 Franklin D. Roosevelt was elected for his fourth term as President of the United States? He is the only president who has served more than 2 terms in office. A term, or the amount of time an individual serves as President of the United States, is 4 years. In 1947 the US Congress passed the Twenty-Second Amendment, which states that a person cannot be elected as President for more than 2 terms.

We hope that you have a historical day at school today. Remember to think kind thoughts, use kind words, and do kind things. And, when the times comes – vote. We Love You.

Bonus Facts:
George Washington, the first president, served two terms. When asked to serve a third he declined. Many of the presidents after him, who had the opportunity to be elected for a third term, also declined. Some of those former presidents voiced the concern that if a limit was not put into place, someone could try to become president for life, much like a monarchy which the American people had just renounced

Other presidents that tried to be elected for a third term include: Ulysses S. Grant, Grover Cleveland, and Theodore Roosevelt.

Franklin D. Roosevelt passed away 2 months and 24 days into his fourth term. He was succeeded by Harry S. Truman, who was also president at the time the Twenty-Second Amendment was proposed and passed in Congress.

The Twenty-Second Amendment was ratified in 1951. It also states that someone can only be elected as President once if they have served more than two years of another elected presidents term (e.g. if they were the vice president and the president they were serving with was incapacitated or passed away in office).